‘Images’ was Anna’s debut solo organ album.

“One of my favourite things about being an organist is the exquisite feeling of practising in a church or cathedral late at night. The door is locked, the lights are often out, and time seems to flow differently. It’s at night that one really gains a sense of the history of the building, getting to know the creaking noises and clicks that make it seem as if the space is breathing. Sound seems to travel differently too, piercing the warm cushion of dark silence like a beam of light. On this disc I’ve tried to capture some of that magic, recording in a chilly Ely Cathedral after hours in January 2021.” – Anna Lapwood

In 2022 ‘Images’, Anna’s edbite was nominated for a Gramophone award in the category ‘Spatial Audio’.

Signum Classics
September 2021

Le Tombeau de Couperin Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
1 I. Prelude arr. Erwin Wiersinga [3.55]
2 III. Forlane [6.23]
3 IV. Riguadon [3.49]
4 An Occasional Trumpet Voluntary Patrick Gowers (1936-2014) [3.43]
5 Andante from String Quartet in G Minor, L. 85 Claude Debussy (1862-1918) [8.16] arr. Alexandre Guilmant
6 Light in Darkness Kerensa Briggs (b. 1991) [4.33]
7 III. Improvisation from Trois Improvisations Nadia Boulanger (1887-1979) [3.20]
8 Images Owain Park (b. 1993) [7.07]

Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes, Op. 33a
Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) arr. Anna Lapwood
9 I. Dawn [3.36]
10 II. Sunday Morning [4.11]
11 III. Moonlight [5.15]
12 IV. Storm [5.06]
13 Vocalise-Étude Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992) [4.35] arr. Anna Lapwood
14 Taking Your Leave Cheryl Frances-Hoad (b. 1980) [4.24]

★★★★★ “Rising star Anna Lapwood’s debut solo recital confirms the hype surrounding this impressive young musician. Her impeccably crafted programme is designed to emphasise the “subtle beauty” of Ely Cathedral’s Harrison and Harrison’s softer qualities…Pieces by Patrick Gowers, Kerensa Briggs and Cheryl Frances-Hoad boast their own attractions in an atmospheric recording backed by Lapwood’s fine booklet notes” – Choir and Organ Magazine

★★★★ Performance, ★★★★ Recording “This debut solo album brilliantly played by the rising young organist Anna Lapwood should certainly engage organ aficionados, especially fans of the grand Harrison & Harrison instrument in Ely Cathedral” – BBC Music Magazine

“My album of the year. The organ could not have a more dedicated or capable ambassador than Lapwood, who has curated and performed her debut solo release with equal care and flair. I suspect that whether you are pulpit-deep in organ recordings or a complete novice, you’ll recognise this as an outstanding achievement” – Art Muse London

“The idea of a voluntary… is gentler than one might expect: but there is also swirling virtuosity here in Lapwood’s superb performance…A wonderful disc” – Classical Explorer

“[Debussy’s String Quartet] Aided by some simply divine registration choices, Lapwood gives it a wonderful aura of tranquillity. [An Occasional Trumpet Voluntary] Lapwood delivers with nicely nuanced syncopations and pleasingly light registrations…Lovers of exotic organ effects will find plenty to satisfy them in this atmospheric recording” – Gramophone

“In every way, this is truly a first-class production for which I offer a highly enthusiastic recommendation” – Classical Candor